Mount Elgon is an extinct shield volcano on the border of  Uganda and Kenya, north of Kisumu and west of Kitale. The mountain’s highest point, named “wagagai”, is located entirely within Uganda. Although there is no verifiable evidence of its earliest volcanic activity, geologists estimate that Mount Elgon is at least 24 million years old, making it the oldest extinct volcano in east Africa.

Mount Elgon is a massive solitary volcanic mountain on the border of eastern Uganda and western Kenya. Its vast form, 80 kilometers (50 mi) in diameter, rises 3,070 meters (10,070 ft) above the surrounding plains. Its cooler heights offer respite for humans from the hot plains below, and its higher altitudes provide a refuge for flora and fauna.

Mt. Elgon consists of five major peaks:

  • Wagagai (4,321 meters (14,177 ft)), in Uganda
  • Sudek (4,302 meters (14,114 ft)) on the Kenya/ Uganda border
  • Koitobos (4,222 meters (13,852 ft)), a flat-topped basalt column in Kenya
  • Mubiyi (4,211 meters (13,816 ft)) in Uganda
  • Masaba (4,161 meters (13,652 ft)) in Uganda

Sudek and lower Elgon from the old Elgon hut, burned down in 1975, on the Kimilili approach.

The sacred Lake is just outside the crater rim below Sudek.